Who the OSHA Act Regulates With the CFR Regulations

Who Does the OSHA Act Regulate in the Private Sector?

The OSH Act regulates most employees in the nation either directly through the Federal OSHA [Occupational Safety and Health Administration] or through an OSHA-approved state program.

Who is NOT covered by the OSH Act?


2.Immediate family members of farm employers that do not employ outside employees

3.Employees of companies regulated by another Federal agency (i.e. the Mine Safety and Health Administration, the Federal Aviation Administration, etc.)

Where do I find the OSHA Regulations for My Industry?

The OSHA Act (also known as the OSH Act) regulates industry and business safety through the STANDARD 29-CFR.  Standard 29-CFR is divided into four parts:

1. General Industry - 29 Code of Federal Regulations – CFR

2. Construction - 29 CFR 1926

3. Maritime Employment (29 CFR 1915-1919)

4. Agriculture (29 CFR 1928)

These CFR Regulations limit the amount of exposure by workers to hazardous chemicals, require the use of certain safe work practices and equipment, and require employers to monitor hazards and keep records of workplace injuries and illnesses.

Employers are also governed by the General Duty Clause of Standard 29-cfr (OSH Act 1970, Section 5), which says each employer must provide a work site free from recognized work place hazards that are causing or are likely to cause death or serious physical harm to the employees;

While some 29-cfr standards of the OSH Act are industry-specific, other standards are similar for all industries.

These are standards are:

1. Access to medical and exposure records
2. Personal protective equipment (PPE)
3. Hazard communication
4. Record-keeping
5. Reporting

To learn more about these OSHA Act industry-wide standards or the cfr regulations for a specific industry, visit www.OSHAstandardsAndRegulations.com.